Break Me Down

I was talking with some coworkers tonight and was reminded of a poem I wrote back in July of 2010. In my search to find it, I was also reminded of this blog. I figured I would go ahead and post it. Enjoy 🙂

Lord, take from me all that I have.

Leave me with empty hands.

Place me where I can’t go on;

Where I feel I can’t withstand.

Break me down,

And build you up.

Convict my heart, and make me feel

Like I can’t do anything right.

Make me broken, scared, discouraged,

And leave me there all night.

Break me down,

And build you up.

Your strength grows strong when I am weak.

My afflictions show your power and love.

You work through me despite my faults;

When I am low, you rise above.

Break me down,

And build you up.

Keep me broken, flawed for you.

Use my mistakes, uncut.

Make me completely dependent on you;

Break me down, and build you up.

Leave a Reply

