This Version of You

There is a version of you that I understand

At least in some small human way.

I can look at you and see a king on a throne calling Isaiah to go.

I can see that you are I AM who parts seas and rescues nations.

I know that you have the power to bring children to the barren,

To raise the dead back to life, and to see into the heart of man.

You have command over all the creatures on earth,

You have authority over all the stars in the sky,

And your very word can speak into existence more than I can ever comprehend.

You are the almighty powerful creator, full of righteousness and majesty,

Far above anyone or anything else.

This is the version of you I can understand.

 

There is a version of you that I long to know.

How can a God so set apart and perfect truly be my friend?

How can you bend down so far as to hear my cries?

Lord, I know you love me, but the thought of that overwhelms me!

I am intimidated by all that you are!

I long to seek you as my comforter in times of need,

My friend when I am alone,

My counselor when I am lost.

I want to call out to you when my heart cries for you to be close,

But I am afraid.

Lord, I need you to show me your heart.

Show me your gentle hand and speak to me with loving words.

Teach me that you can satisfy all of my emotional needs

So that I can stop turning to the world only to have it fail me.

Overwhelm me with your love, with your approval, with your intimacy!

Remind me daily of the cross!

Lord, teach me how to understand how you love me!

This is the version of you I long to know.

Leave a Reply

