The Throne Room

“In the year that King Uzziah died, I saw the Lord sitting on a throne, high and lifted up, and the train of His robe filled the temple. Above it stood seraphim; each one had six wings: with two he covered his face, with two he covered his feet, and with two he flew. And one cried to another and said: ‘Holy, holy, holy is the Lord of hosts; The whole earth is full of His glory!’ And the posts of the door were shaken by the voice of him who cried out, and the house was filled with smoke. So I said:“Woe is me, for I am undone!Because I am a man of unclean lips, And I dwell in the midst of a people of unclean lips; For my eyes have seen the King, The Lord of hosts.”

Isaiah 6:1-5

I read the words and they come alive.
Your words, they draw me in.
As each one starts to reach my heart
The view around me spins.

I land in a room so grand and large
That I see no end in sight.
I look up and see a mighty throne
That radiates with light.

Beyond the light, I see no more,
For smoke fills up this place.
It hides the man upon the throne.
I can’t make out His face.

But all around I hear a sound
A joyous sound indeed!
It rises up and fills my lungs
‘Till I join in the creed.

“Holy Holy Holy!”
No other words will do!
“You are the Lord Almighty!”
God, we sing this out to you!

I sing with the angels’ song!
They shout it out above!
And all the world down below
Radiates Your love!

Then I look around the room
A royal robe I see
Stretching to each distant corner
For all eternity!

Your robe, it covers all of us!
You protect us from your throne!
There is nowhere we can run from you!
You won’t leave us alone!

I stand here in Your throne room, God
As the earth around me shakes!
I offer you my heart, Oh Lord,
So desperate that it aches!

You are King above all else!
I drop down to the floor
And praise your holy, precious name
Today and evermore!

Leave a Reply

