Lord

“Have you ever thought about what Lord means? We sometimes think of it as another name for God, but it’s actually a title. It refers to a master, owner, or a person who is in a position of authority. So take a minute to think this through: Do you really believe that He is your owner- that you actually belong to him?” -Francis Chan in “Multiply”

 

I come to you, and I call you Lord.

That’s the name you have written on my heart.

Others jump to God, Father, King,

But to me you are always Lord.

Why have you identified yourself this way to me?

What does this title mean?

It means that you are my Lord and master.

I am nothing but your servant

Bought at the highest price.

 

But I am a terrible servant!

I disobey you when you command me.

I often serve others over you.

I am not living like the devoted servant

That I should be.

 

Yet you do not punish me!

You do not sell me, discard me, or withhold your love!

You remind me that I am forever yours

And you are forever my Lord.

Surely I deserve much worse.

 

Your love for me is boundless!

Your compassion is unfailing!

Your patience with me knows no ends!

Wait for me, oh Lord, as I learn how to wait upon you!

I am your servant.

You are my Lord.

I am yours.

 

“You are not your own, for you were bought with a price…” -1 Corinthians 6:19-20

“If you declare with your mouth, “Jesus is Lord,” and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved.” -Romans 10:9

Leave a Reply

