A Sonnet of Praise to the God Who Hears My Cries

Oh, Lord, I’m blessed to speak with you,

To raise my voice to you at all!

You see me humbled, weak, and small.

I’m lost, not knowing what to do,

And even though my words are few,

You hear my plea, my desperate call,

My cry for strength, my burdened fall.

You smile down. You see your cue.

You answer me! I can’t believe

You’d see me worthy of your time!

You send your words and I receive

Then I return by sending mine.

We each reply, forever mending!

Our conversation’s never ending!

 

“Call to me and I will answer you, and will tell you great and hidden things that you have not known.” –Jeremiah 33:3

 

“And this is the confidence that we have toward him, that if we ask anything according to his will he hears us.” 1 John 5:14

 

“But know that the Lord has set apart the godly for himself; the Lord hears when I call to him.” Psalm 4:3

 

1 Kings 18: 16-46

Leave a Reply

